Books, Children's Literature, Harry Potter Moment of the Week, Movies, YA

Harry Potter Moment of the Week #24

HPMOTW (2)

This is a meme started by Uncorked Thoughts which aims to share with fellow bloggers a weekly slice of HP awesomeness. It is an awesomeness that only increases with time and number of reads. Once a week we will share a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/films/J. K. Rowling (or anything Potter related)! Each topic will be posted on Uncorked Thoughts HERE. There will also be  free weeks where everyone can share whatever topic they want! Be sure to share your link on the main site for all other HP MOTW fans to enjoy!

This Week’s Theme: Worst Harry Potter death

FRED!!

Fred's Death

I’m sorry, I know there were a lot of horrible, sad, and devastating moments throughout the Harry Potter series, but for me, none was worse than Fred’s death. Coming so close to the end of the series, it was the most shocking to me, and the one that really slammed me. I’ve talked about this in previous HP MOTW posts, but I feel completely comfortable reiterating that this was just so unnecessary, which to me, made it all the more devastating. I felt like a lot of the other deaths (while being perhaps equally gutwrenching) seemed to serve some kind of purpose, whether it was giving Harry the movitation he needed to achieve something or learn some kind of lesson, or like his parents, Dumbledore, and Snape their deaths actually served to reaveal part of the greater plot or secrets that were being kept. So while horrible, I could still understand why they were necessary.

Fred dying on the other hand, his loss served no purpose to me. There were so many other deaths during the Battle of Hogwarts that served the same purpose of showing the idea that not everyone makes it out of war alive, or whatever reason you want to give to his death. If the only purpose was to show that not even the Weasleys got out unscathed, I think that could have been shown another way.

 

Well, that’s really all I’ve got for ya! Just a small moment of sweet HP goodness! I hope you enjoyed it, and please, feel free to share your own thoughts on what you think the worst death was in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week #24”

  1. I agree that Fred’s death seemed unnecessary, I guess it’s supposed to show that wars can kill anyone, even those that don’t at all deserve it. It was horrible. Somehow it makes it worse that he was one of a pair, and that now his twin will have to carry on missing a whole part of themselves. Fred was definitely tragic. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eeep sorry I’m so late to the party – Thursdays I usually work and have to hurry and post my HP moment before heading out >.<

    With ALL MY HEART, I wish that the Weasleys had survived the series with NO casualties. Nothing hurts me more than thinking about poor George, Molly and Arthur and the rest of the clan mourning Fred. I read somewhere that JKR wanted to kill Mr Weasley at first and decided against it (which I'm thankful for) but I just wish she hadn't substituted with Fred 😦

    Like

Leave a comment