Books, Waiting On Wednesday, YA

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Empire of Shadows

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


 

Empire of Shadows (Bhinian Empire, #2) by Miriam Forster

Hardcover, 496 pages
Publication Date: Nov. 4th 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
ISBN: 9780062121332
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

Cast out of her family three years ago, Mara turned to the only place that would take her—a school where students train to protect others. But Mara is stunned when guarding a noble girl in the Empire’s capital turns out to be more dangerous than she could’ve imagined. More shocking still, she finds the boy she thought she had lost forever outside the gates of her new home.

Mara knew her life in the dizzying Imperial city would hold dangers. How could she have known that her heart, as well as her life, would be at stake?

Empire of Shadows will take readers on a spellbinding journey into the world Miriam Forster first introduced in City of a Thousand Dolls—a world with a divided society, deadly courtiers, heroic traitors, and deeply laid conspiracies.

Mmmmm. Fantasy, intrigue, and danger lurking around every corner… Yup, this one is going to be right up my alley! I was so surprised with how much I enjoyed City of a Thousand Dolls when I read it earlier this past year. I thought the mystery in it was fantastic, and the fantasy world was vivid and well-built with intricate histories that are bound to wreak havoc on this next chapter in the series. And can I just stop for a moment to appreciate that GORGEOUS cover?? … Okay, I’m done basking. I know this one has a new set of characters and that always makes me nervous, especially when you grow to love the first set and then they disappear. But I’m confident that Forster has some great plans up her sleeve and I doubt we’ve seen the last of those characters. So I’ll wait, and hopefully discover new ones to love.
 ***
What are you waiting for this week?
***

21 thoughts on ““Waiting On” Wednesdays: Empire of Shadows”

    1. Thanks! It really is so pretty isn’t it? I actually saw this cover first, and when I discovered this was book 2, I went looking for book 1 and loved it! Thanks for stopping by!! Happy reading!

      Like

  1. This was a fantastic book! I was lucky, and it’s up on Edelweiss, and yeah, it does have a very pretty cover! And as to the fact that it’s a sequel, and new characters, there’s 2 characters from the first, in this one. Well, technically 4, but the two don’t do to much in either book. Well, one of them has a bigger role in this one then he did in the last 🙂 Yep 🙂 Great pick! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That cover. Just… stunning. I haven’t read the first book, but I have a friend who says it is like, her all-time favorite and that I must. SoI will at some point! Because seriously, I need this book on my bookshelf. It honestly may be my favorite cover of all time, and I don’t even know what its predecessor was about! Great pick, hope you love it!

    Like

  3. Ooh, interesting! I have City of a Thousand Dolls but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. Good to know you really enjoyed it! I do looove those covers, and let’s be honest: fantasy, intrigue, and danger? I’m sold!

    Like

  4. Whoa, what a beautiful cover. And the synopsis sounds pretty compelling. A shame I never heard of this series before. Going to check out the first installment now. Thanks for sharing and thanks for visiting by WoW 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment