Books, Waiting On Wednesday, YA

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Rites of Passage

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


 

Rites of Passage by Joy Hensley

Hardcover, 416 pages
Publication Date: September 9, 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
ISBN: 9780062295194
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

Sam McKenna’s never turned down a dare. And she’s not going to start with the last one her brother gave her before he died.

So Sam joins the first-ever class of girls at the prestigious Denmark Military Academy. She’s expecting push-ups and long runs, rope climbing and mud-crawling. As a military brat, she can handle an obstacle course just as well as the boys. She’s even expecting the hostility she gets from some of the cadets who don’t think girls belong there. What she’s not expecting is her fiery attraction to her drill sergeant. But dating is strictly forbidden and Sam won’t risk her future, or the dare, on something so petty…no matter how much she wants him.

As Sam struggles to prove herself, she discovers that some of the boys don’t just want her gone—they will stop at nothing to drive her out. When their petty threats turn to brutal hazing, bleeding into every corner of her life, she realizes they are not acting alone. A decades-old secret society is alive and active… and determined to force her out.

At any cost.

Now time’s running short. Sam must decide who she can trust…and choosing the wrong person could have deadly consequences.

What makes me look forward to Rites of Passage is that it doesn’t sound like any other book I’ve read a synopsis of in recent memory. It sounds a little G.I. Jane, but not quite. Plus… mystery and intrigue and a secret society?? Sign me up! But a story that seems part mystery and part realistic fiction will be a nice breath of fresh air among all my fantasies and paranormal stories. I hope it’s as thrilling as the synopsis makes it sound!

48 thoughts on ““Waiting On” Wednesdays: Rites of Passage”

  1. I’ve been seeing this one around but never looked into it. partly because of the cover, yeah I’m a cover person. But now I think I might look into this once it comes out.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. Great pick! I couldn’t get an ARC for this one so I’m waiting with you…. Thanks for stopping by Becoming Books.

    Like

  3. Great pick! I’ve seen this one around and agree that it sounds so fresh! I don’t think I’ve ever read anything about a girl in the military; probably the closest would be something like Legend. I can’t wait to see how it turns out! Thanks for stopping by our WOW!

    Amber R. @ Bibliophilia, Please

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is new to me, but I’m intrigued by the story. I don’t usually read realistic/contemporary fiction, but perhaps! Thanks for sharing and thanks for visiting my wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I definitely want to read this one! At first, I shied away from it because the character’s name is Sam and my son’s name is Sam and it bugs me when I see girl Sams. But that is a really dumb reason for not reading a book, and it seems to be getting really good reviews! Great pick, and I hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Like

  6. Amazing choice. I found this one a week ago in another waiting on wednesday post. I don’t really read military themed books but this caught my attention, I can’t wait to read more about Sam’s training and this secret society. 🙂

    Like

  7. I’ve seen this before.. the idea sounds like something different from my usual read.. military setup with an intriguing side~~ I’ll most likely check this one out.. *waiting for reviews* nice pick! 🙂

    Like

  8. Awesome choice! I agree, it sounds so different from a lot of what’s out there now and I love that it’s a girl proving that she’s just as kick-butt as the boys! Can’t wait 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really excited for it, and I’ve heard that a couple of people with ARCs have been enjoying it, so I’m excited to get my hands on it more now. lol, that’s always the way! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a comment