Books, Teaser Tuesdays, YA

Teaser Tuesdays: The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy

Teaser Tuesdays

It’s time for another “Teaser Tuesday!”

This feature (or meme)  is one I discovered on my friend Kim’s site Book Munchies, and is hosted by MizB of the Should Be Reading blog. For those of you who would like to play along at home (or more specifically on your homepage), here is how Teaser Tuesdays work.

– Grab (one of) your current read(s) and open it to a random page
– Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
– BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
– Remember to include the title & author, too, so that your followers and any Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their reading lists if your tease has captured their attention!

—> Now on to the main event!

 

The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy by Kate Hattemer

Hardcover, 336 pages
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date: April 8th, 2014
ISBN# 9780385753784
Page: 6

“I was in a locker.
Perhaps you have some questions for me.

Where was the locker?
It was in the math hallway. The hallway also contained TV cameras and reality stars and the love of my life.

Was the locker locked?
We’ll get to that.

Oh and by the way, WHY? Why in the name of God-slash-Buddha-slash-Zeus, in the name of all things holy, WHY, why, why, why? WHY were you IN A LOCKER?
Yeah, that was going through my head too.”

 

15 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays: The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy”

    1. What’s great is most of it is not really poetry, but after a few introductory chapters, each one begins with a piece of an “epic” poem about how the characters hate the reality TV show filming at their school.

      Like

  1. I smiled when I read the title, didn’t know why. Then I laughed when I read the tease. This sounds like it will be a lot of fun. I look forward to reading the review.
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog.
    sherry @ fundinmental

    Like

Leave a comment