Books, Children's Literature, Teaser Tuesdays, YA

Teaser Tuesdays: Banned and Challenged Edition!

Teaser Tuesdays

It’s time for another “Teaser Tuesday!”

This feature (or meme)  is one I discovered on my friend Kim’s site Book Munchies, and is hosted by MizB of the Should Be Reading blog. For those of you who would like to play along at home (or more specifically on your homepage), here is how Teaser Tuesdays work.

– Grab (one of) your current read(s) and open it to a random page
– Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
– BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
– Remember to include the title & author, too, so that your followers and any Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their reading lists if your tease has captured their attention!

—> Now on to the main event!

This week I have foregone my current reads in favor of sharing with everyone two of my favorite books that have, at one point or another, been challenged or banned from libraries in the United States. I’ve read and loved both of them. One as a child, and the other more recently as an adult. I hope you enjoy them enough to take some time and read these and other banned books this week!

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

Hardcover, 230 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: April 1st, 2009
ISBN# 9780316013697
Page: 11

But I can’t blame my parents for our poverty because my mother and father are the twin suns around which I orbit and my world would EXPLODE without them.

And it’s not like my mother and father were born into wealth. It’s not like they gambled away their family fortunes. My parents came from poor people who came from poor people who came from poor people, all the way back to the very first poor people.

 

 
I read this next one in the fourth grade, and it became one of my two favorite books of that year.

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

Hardcover, 146 pages
Publisher: HarperCollins and Barnes & Noble Newbery Library
Release Date: September 12th, 2008
ISBN# 9781435110953
Page: 54

Terabithia was their secret, which was a good thing, for how could Jess have ever explained it to an outsider. Just walking down the hill towards the woods made something warm and liquid steal through his body. The closer he came to the dry creek bed and the crab apple tree rope the more he could feel the beating of his heart. He grabbed the end of the rope and swung out toward the other bank with a kind of wild exhilaration and landed gently on his feet, taller and stronger and wiser in that mysterious land.

 

14 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays: Banned and Challenged Edition!”

  1. That was a great idea; combining TT with Banned Books Week! I haven’t read the first book, but I am interested in it. I read Bridge to Terabithia a long, long time ago and, unfortunately don’t remember much about it. I do remember meeting Patterson at a book signing and getting Bridge autographed. It’s a foggy memory though, I think I was maybe nine years old. Anyhow, I just wanted to thank you for choosing challenged/banned books for your TT. It was interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Super idea to feature Banned Books, Kerry! I haven’t read either of those. Shannon had a post today about Banned Books and a list of some of the most banned through time. I’d read eighteen of them and only a couple could I see as being banned for children because of being too explicit. (And of course I snuck that one from high on my parents’ bookshelf and read it, lol. Lady Chatterley’s Lover. It was pretty risqué back in the 50s, but I daresay it is tame compared to some of the books out nowadays.

    My TT this week is from A Pirate Looks at Fifty by Jimmy Buffett at http://wp.me/pZnGI-dJ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Kerry, it’s nice to see someone else highlighting banned/challenged books this week! I’ve not read the first book, but recently reread Bridge to Terabithia and enjoyed it as much as I had the first time — even knowing the sad ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never read Bridge to Terabithia. (yikes!) I haven’t read Alexie’s book either, although I did read some of his writings in an Intro to Native American Literature class last year.

    I find it hard to believe these books were challenged or banned…probably by the same folks that let their children watch hours of tv to keep them out of their hair. *sigh* *climbs down off the soapbox*

    Anyway, I TBR’d both of these on GoodReads. :O)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love banned book week. We have an interesting display here at the library i work at. Great teasers!! Thanks for stopping by my TT.

    P.S.- Four is great. It’s about his Choosing day and how he got to his position when Tris shows up.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay for more banned books! I’ve heard of The Part Time Indian, and I do have that on my to read book. I’ve also heard of The Bridge to Terabithia, but never more than the name. I’ll have to check that one out, too. Thanks for sharing, and dropping by my TT.

    Like

Leave a comment