Books, Waiting On Wednesday, YA

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Perilous Sea

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


 

The Perilous Sea (The Elemental Trilogy, #2) by Sherry Thomas

Hardcover, 414 pages
Publication Date: September 16, 2014
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: 9780062329387
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

After spending the summer away from each other, Titus and Iolanthe (still disguised as Archer Fairfax) are eager to return to Eton College to resume their training to fight the Bane. Although no longer bound to Titus by a blood oath, Iolanthe is more committed than ever to fulfilling her destiny—especially with the agents of Atlantis quickly closing in.

Soon after arriving at school, though, Titus makes a shocking discovery, one that makes him question everything he previously believed about their mission. Faced with this devastating realization, Iolanthe is forced to come to terms with her new role, while Titus must choose between following his mother’s prophecies—and forging a divergent path to an unknowable future.

This series really surprised me when I read the first book last year. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it as much as I did, but I fell in love with the way the author built this hidden world. I also enjoyed that she set the parts that take place in ‘our world’ in the past. Now, as I’m waiting for the second book, I can’t help but wonder where these two characters will end up next. How in the hell are they going to continue their ruse that Iolanthe is a boy? And where is this whole thing gonna go?? I’m really excited to find out, and I hope that Iolanthe gets to understand and use more of her magic in this book. It’s going to be amazing!

28 thoughts on ““Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Perilous Sea”

  1. The first book has been on my TBR list for a while and I just haven’t had a chance to pick it up yet. But this one sounds so interesting I think I’ll have to make some time for that first one. Good choice!

    Hallie @ Book by Book

    Like

  2. I wish I had read the first book, I will have to do so quickly because I keep hearing great things about it. Awesome choice! Thanks for visiting my wow!

    Like

  3. I’ve heard great things about the first one but I have yet to get a copy of it. I hope you enjoy this one and it lives up to your expectations!

    Like

  4. Eek! Yes!! I’m so excited to read this! I put off reading The burning Sky because I wasn’t that interested, and then I adored it when I read it! This cover is seriously gorgeous, too. 😀 Great pick!

    Like

Leave a comment