“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Walk the Edge

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Walk the Edge (Thunder Road, #2) by Katie McGarry

Hardcover, 426 pages
Publication Date: Mar. 29th, 2016
Publisher: Harlequin TEEN
ISBN: 9780373211623
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

One moment of recklessness will change their worlds.

Smart. Responsible. That’s seventeen-year-old Breanna’s role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully’s line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas “Razor” Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don’t belong. But when he learns she’s being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it’s time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he’ll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she’ll help him seek answers to the mystery that’s haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they’re both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they’re going from here.

I’m such a big fan of Katie McGarry! Her stories, are always full of drama and tension, but still feel like the characters could step off the page and into this world with no problems! They are that real. The situations and problems they face are true to life and I feel like if I went down to Kentucky I would find these people walking around. With her new Thunder Road series, I liked the first book but wasn’t as into it as her previous series. But now with book 2, I find I’m really excited to read about Razor! We don’t really know too much about him from the first book so I’m kinda glad he’s the focus of this story.

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Fall With Me

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Fall With Me (Wait for You, #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Paperback, 384 pages
Publication Date: Mar. 31st, 2015
Publisher: Avon Books
ISBN: 9780062362742
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

Eleven months ago, bartender and weird-shirt-wearing extraordinaire Roxy and Officer Reece Anders had a one night stand. Well, kind of. She’s been in love with him since she was fifteen, and he wishes that night they shared never happened. She’s sworn him off forever, but the past and future collide, forcing her to rely on the one man who broke her heart not once, but twice.

Her best friend since birth has been in a long-term care facility since he became a victim of a hate crime years ago, and the person who put him in there is out of prison and wanting to make amends with him and Roxy. She’s not sure she has room for forgiveness in her and when she begins to receive frightening messages and is on the receiving end of escalating violence, she thinks she knows who is to blame. The man who already destroyed one life already.

But Reece isn’t convinced. The threats are too personal, and even if Roxy doesn’t believe him, he’s not willing to let anyone hurt her. Including himself. He’s already messed up more than once when it comes to Roxy and he’s not going to let history repeat itself.

I can’t really remember when or why I started reading the Wait for You series, but I really liked it. I’m not really that into a lot of the “New Adult” stuff, because I don’t think I’ve found a lot that was all that well written (at least, not yet) but J. Lynn’s series is one of the fun exceptions to that. Her romances always feel realistic, as well as incredibly sexy. I especially liked the third book in this series, taking things out of college and into a more “real world” atmosphere, which I enjoyed. I’m glad to see that this book is going to focus on Roxy and Reece! I found their somewhat antagonistic relationship to be quite interesting and I’m curious to see where this book will take them!

 

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Liars, Inc.

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

Hardcover, 368 pages
Publication Date: Mar. 24th, 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: 9780062323286
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV’s How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called “Captivating to the very end,” Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.

I defy you to read this premise and not feel the tension. When I first discovered this book, it made my hair stand on end. Now, every time I read it, I get both excited and nervous for Max. Normally this is not my kind of story, I like the lighter, fluffier contemporary fiction most of the time, but this is definitely drawing me in. Plus, I LOVED I Hunt Killers, so I’m definitely excited and curious to see if this book can be as good in it’s own way.

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***