“Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Long Game

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


The Long Game (The Fixer, #2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Hardcover, 368 pages
Publication Date: Jun. 7th, 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN: 9781619635968
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

Tess Kendrick, teen fixer extraordinaire, returns in a pulse-pounding thriller about a deadly conspiracy at the heart of Washington.

For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate’s campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

Meanwhile, Tess’s guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can–and cannot–be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she’s about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.

Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

I think the first book (The Fixer) seemed to come out of nowhere in how amazing it was, but I’d read Barnes’s Naturals series so I was aware of the twisty mind games she’s capable of playing on her audience. That being said, I was still blown away by how much I really enjoyed book 1. This one, I feel is going to up the stakes even more. Now that we know how tricksy some of these characters can be, I feel like things are just going to get deeper in their development and plot-wise Barnes can up the danger factor to bring on the thrills. AND I CAN’T WAIT! I love the way she builds suspense, and from the description (high school election, terrorist attacks, and power that comes with a price) there’s no way this book is going to disappoint. I say Bring. It. On! Sooner rather than later, lol!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Wrong Side of Right

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Hardcover, 400 pages
Publication Date: Mar. 17th, 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
ISBN: 9780803740570
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

There is so much about this book that intrigues me. First is the whole concept, it’s definitely one that’s new, and appealing. Second, it’s teens and politics. I think this sounds like a great story that will (hopefully) get a new generation interested in civic involvement, or at the very least, talking about their own ideas and where they stand on the issues that it seems might get discussed in this book. I like that Kate seems to have her own opinions and ideas that might not track with her new family, and I’m really curious to see how she handles that. Add a dash of romance, and I’m sure I’ll be hooked. I can’t wait to check it out!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

Image

Students Confronting Campus Rape

rollingstone:

Confronting campus rape: A growing wave of grassroots activists is forcing universities to take a stronger stand against sexual abuse – and now the Obama administration is joining the fight.

 

Image

We Need Diverse Books!

weneeddiversebooks:

“#WeNeedDiverseBooks because

a homogenous world is a

boring

uncreative

unfulfilling

worthless

dangerous world.”

Submitted by Shae/Shelver.