“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Walk the Edge

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Walk the Edge (Thunder Road, #2) by Katie McGarry

Hardcover, 426 pages
Publication Date: Mar. 29th, 2016
Publisher: Harlequin TEEN
ISBN: 9780373211623
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

One moment of recklessness will change their worlds.

Smart. Responsible. That’s seventeen-year-old Breanna’s role in her large family, and heaven forbid she put a toe out of line. Until one night of shockingly un-Breanna-like behavior puts her into a vicious cyber-bully’s line of fire—and brings fellow senior Thomas “Razor” Turner into her life.

Razor lives for the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, and good girls like Breanna just don’t belong. But when he learns she’s being blackmailed over a compromising picture of the two of them—a picture that turns one unexpected and beautiful moment into ugliness—he knows it’s time to step outside the rules.

And so they make a pact: he’ll help her track down her blackmailer, and in return she’ll help him seek answers to the mystery that’s haunted him—one that not even his club brothers have been willing to discuss. But the more time they spend together, the more their feelings grow. And suddenly they’re both walking the edge of discovering who they really are, what they want, and where they’re going from here.

I’m such a big fan of Katie McGarry! Her stories, are always full of drama and tension, but still feel like the characters could step off the page and into this world with no problems! They are that real. The situations and problems they face are true to life and I feel like if I went down to Kentucky I would find these people walking around. With her new Thunder Road series, I liked the first book but wasn’t as into it as her previous series. But now with book 2, I find I’m really excited to read about Razor! We don’t really know too much about him from the first book so I’m kinda glad he’s the focus of this story.

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

Advertisements

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Wrong Side of Right

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Hardcover, 400 pages
Publication Date: Mar. 17th, 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
ISBN: 9780803740570
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

There is so much about this book that intrigues me. First is the whole concept, it’s definitely one that’s new, and appealing. Second, it’s teens and politics. I think this sounds like a great story that will (hopefully) get a new generation interested in civic involvement, or at the very least, talking about their own ideas and where they stand on the issues that it seems might get discussed in this book. I like that Kate seems to have her own opinions and ideas that might not track with her new family, and I’m really curious to see how she handles that. Add a dash of romance, and I’m sure I’ll be hooked. I can’t wait to check it out!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

Teaser Tuesdays: Firefight and The Geography of You and Me

Teaser Tuesdays

It’s time for another “Teaser Tuesday!”

This feature (or meme)  is one I discovered on my friend Kim’s site Book Munchies, and is hosted by MizB of the Should Be Reading blog. For those of you who would like to play along at home (or more specifically on your homepage), here is how Teaser Tuesdays work.

– Grab (one of) your current read(s) and open it to a random page
– Share a couple “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
– BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

—> Now on to the main event!

 

Firefight (The Reckoners, #2) by Brandon Sanderson

Hardcover, 416 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: January 6th, 2015
ISBN# 9780385743587
Page: 9

That bullet exploded as it passed through her energy field.

Even soaked in Kool-Aid, her protections worked.

She looked at me, her electricity flaring to life–growing more violent, more dangerous, lighting the room like a calzone stuffed with dynamite.

Uh, oh…

 

 

 

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Hardcover, 337 pages
Publisher: Poppy
Release Date: April 15th, 2014
ISBN# 9780316254779
Page: 37

Outside, they stood for a moment with the plastic bags hooked around their fingers. The last streaks of pink  had been erased from the sky over the Hudson, and an inky black had settled over the street. As they walked uptown to join the line for free ice cream, there was still a feeling of celebration to the evening.