“Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Long Game

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


The Long Game (The Fixer, #2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Hardcover, 368 pages
Publication Date: Jun. 7th, 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN: 9781619635968
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

Tess Kendrick, teen fixer extraordinaire, returns in a pulse-pounding thriller about a deadly conspiracy at the heart of Washington.

For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate’s campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

Meanwhile, Tess’s guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can–and cannot–be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she’s about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.

Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

I think the first book (The Fixer) seemed to come out of nowhere in how amazing it was, but I’d read Barnes’s Naturals series so I was aware of the twisty mind games she’s capable of playing on her audience. That being said, I was still blown away by how much I really enjoyed book 1. This one, I feel is going to up the stakes even more. Now that we know how tricksy some of these characters can be, I feel like things are just going to get deeper in their development and plot-wise Barnes can up the danger factor to bring on the thrills. AND I CAN’T WAIT! I love the way she builds suspense, and from the description (high school election, terrorist attacks, and power that comes with a price) there’s no way this book is going to disappoint. I say Bring. It. On! Sooner rather than later, lol!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

Advertisements

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Spinning Starlight

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis

Hardcover, 336 pages
Publication Date: Oct. 6th, 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
ISBN: 9781423185154
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

Sixteen-year-old heiress and paparazzi darling Liddi Jantzen hates the spotlight. But as the only daughter in the most powerful tech family in the galaxy, it’s hard to escape it. So when a group of men show up at her house uninvited, she assumes it’s just the usual media-grubs. That is, until shots are fired.

Liddi escapes, only to be pulled into an interplanetary conspiracy more complex than she ever could have imagined. Her older brothers have been caught as well, trapped in the conduits between the planets. And when their captor implants a device in Liddi’s vocal cords to monitor her speech, their lives are in her hands: One word and her brothers are dead.

Desperate to save her family from a desolate future, Liddi travels to another world, where she meets the one person who might have the skills to help her bring her eight brothers home-a handsome dignitary named Tiav. But without her voice, Liddi must use every bit of her strength and wit to convince Tiav that her mission is true. With the tenuous balance of the planets deeply intertwined with her brothers’ survival, just how much is Liddi willing to sacrifice to bring them back?

Haunting and mesmerizing, this retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s The Wild Swans strings the heart of the classic with a stunning, imaginative world as a star-crossed family fights for survival in this companion to Stitching Snow.

The Wild Swans (and all it’s variants) has always been one of my favorite fairy tales. I’m really intrigued and excited to see how the author treats the material, and how it all gets adapted. I really enjoyed Stitching Snow and I’m excited to see whether any of those characters make an appearance, or if this is a complete stand-alone set in the same world. Either way, I think I’m going to like it. Lewis creates some really interesting characters and scenarios, and it’s been a while since I’ve read any sci-fi. I can’t wait to get my hands on this one!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***