“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Age of Myth

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Age of MythAge of Myth (The Legends of the First Empire, #1) by Michael J. Sullivan

Hardcover, 418 pages
Publication Date: Jun. 28th, 2016
Publisher: Del Rey
ISBN: 9781101965337
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

What does it mean if the gods can be killed? The first novel in an epic new fantasy series for readers of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch.

Michael J. Sullivan’s trailblazing career began with the breakout success of his Riyria series: full-bodied, spellbinding fantasy adventures whose imaginative scope and sympathetic characters won a devoted readership. Now, Sullivan’s stunning hardcover debut, Age of Myth, inaugurates an original five-book series, and one of fantasy’s finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground.

Since time immemorial, humans have worshiped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between men and those they thought were gods changes forever. Now, only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer, Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom, and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over; the time of rebellion has begun.

Mostly I picked this one out because I was drawn in by the cover. LOL! Call me shallow, but I really liked the tree and the whole fantasy-esque look. Then when I read the description, I loved the idea of a god dying by a human hand. Of rebellion and this really interesting world that Sullivan is putting together.

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

Advertisements

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Bay of Sighs

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Bay of Sighs (The Guardians Trilogy, #2) by Nora Roberts

Paperback, 352 pages
Publication Date: Jun. 14th, 2016
Publisher: Berkley
ISBN: 9780425280119
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

To celebrate the rise of their new queen, three goddesses of the moon created three stars, one of fire, one of ice, one of water. But then they fell from the sky, putting the fate of all worlds in danger. And now three women and three men join forces to pick up the pieces…

Mermaid Annika is from the sea, and it is there she must return after her quest to find the stars. New to this world, her purity and beauty are nothing less than breathtaking, along with her graceful athleticism, as her five new friends discovered when they retrieved the fire star.

Now, through space and time, traveler Sawyer King has brought the guardians to the island of Capri, where the water star is hidden. And as he watches Annika in her element, he finds himself drawn to her joyful spirit. But Sawyer knows that if he allows her into his heart, no compass could ever guide him back to solid ground…

And in the darkness, their enemy broods. She lost one star to the guardians, but there is still time for blood to be spilled—the mermaid’s in the water and the traveler’s on the land. For she has forged a dangerous new weapon. Something deadly and unpredictable. Something human.

I love me some Nora Roberts. Especially when she does trilogies and series with a bit of magic in them. With this new trilogy, I really enjoyed the mythology she’s cooked up to get all these lovers together. And while some people probably find her stories too formulaic, that’s one of the qualities I like about her work. I know I’m going to get something that feels both familiar and new all at the same time. I’m really curious about this second book because the focus is on two characters with peculiar and mysterious backgrounds and I’m excited to explore them. This is a perfect beach read, just in time for summer!

PS. Happy Birthday to my baby sister today!!!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Allegiance of Honor

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Allegiance of Honor (Psy-Changeling, #15) by Nalini Singh

Hardcover, 496 pages
Publication Date: Jun. 14th, 2016
Publisher: Berkley
ISBN: 9781101987766
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

The “unparalleled romantic adventure”* of Nalini Singh’s New York Times bestselling series continues as a new dawn begins for the Psy-Changeling world…

The Psy-Changeling world has undergone a staggering transformation and now stands at a crossroads. The Trinity Accord promises a new era of cooperation between disparate races and groups. It is a beacon of hope held together by many hands: Old enemies. New allies. Wary loners.

But a century of distrust and suspicion can’t be so easily forgotten and threatens to shatter Trinity from within at any moment. As rival members vie for dominance, chaos and evil gather in the shadows and a kidnapped woman’s cry for help washes up in San Francisco, while the Consortium turns its murderous gaze toward a child who is the embodiment of change, of love, of piercing hope: A child who is both Psy…and changeling.

To find the lost, protect the vulnerable—and save Trinity—no one can stand alone. This is a time of loyalty across divisions, of bonds woven into the heart and the soul, of heroes known and unknown standing back to back and holding the line. But is an allegiance of honor even possible with traitors lurking in their midst?

This is an extensive paranormal romance series and I’ve only recently caught up with it. I love Singh’s abilities to fully-realized fantasy backdrops for her characters to interact in. The history between the varied races in this world is so detailed and complex and plays beautifully into the story-arch that continues throughout the whole series. I’m really excited to see where the series goes next!!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

“Waiting On” Wednesdays: Tumbling

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


Tumbling by Caela Carter

Hardcover, 432 pages
Publication Date: Jun. 7th, 2016
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780451473004
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

 

Work harder than anyone.
Be the most talented.
Sacrifice everything.
And if you’re lucky, maybe you will go to the Olympics.

Grace lives and breathes gymnastics—but no matter how hard she pushes herself, she can never be perfect enough.

Leigh, Grace’s best friend, has it all: a gymnastics career, a normal high-school life… and a secret that could ruin everything.

Camille wants to please her mom, wants to please her boyfriend, and most of all, wants to walk away.

Wilhemina was denied her Olympic dream four years ago, and she won’t let anything stop her again. No matter what.

Monica is terrified. Nobody believes in her—and why should they?

By the end of the two days of the U.S. Olympic Gymnastics Trials, some of these girls will be stars. Some will be going home with nothing. And all will have their lives changed forever.

So, I LOVE gymnastics. I was a gymnast from age 4-12. I watch the Summer Olympics specifically for gymnastics, and, when I was a kid, I wanted to be Shannon Miller. (She’s Gold Medal winning Olympic gymnast for those who are unaware of her awesomeness.) In fact, the whole 1996 Olympic female gymnastics team were my everything! It also makes me think of the movie Stick It (which I loved, no lies!) Pretty much anything related to this sport/competition, I’m here for it. So the fact that someone in YA is finally writing about this world just makes me SO  HAPPY! I cannot WAIT to see what happens in this novel. I also love that there are so many characters and we will (hopefully) see different viewpoints of these teens who have all different dreams relating to gymnastics. I also kinda like that the description is a little light on the details. It lends the story a little more mystery (without it actually being a mystery.) I’m really curious/excited to get started!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***