Harry Potter Moment of the Week #42

HPMOTW (2)

This is a meme started by Uncorked Thoughts which aims to share with fellow bloggers a weekly slice of HP awesomeness. It is an awesomeness that only increases with time and number of reads. Once a week we will share a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/films/J. K. Rowling (or anything Potter related)! Each topic will be posted on Uncorked Thoughts HERE. There will also be  free weeks where everyone can share whatever topic they want! Be sure to share your link on the main site for all other HP MOTW fans to enjoy!

This Week’s Theme: If you had to use one, which Unforgivable Curse would you use?

unforgivable curses

Frankly, I wouldn’t want to use any of these curses. Much as I might act a bit bloodthirsty on occasion, and I fully believe I’m capable of hurting or even killing someone in defense of myself or my family, I would never want to be put in a position where I would have to use something like these means of hurting others. There’s a reason they’re Unforgivable.

the killing curseI suppose that if I had no choice and had to pick one, I’d probably just use the Avada Kedavra, The Killing Curse. While this might seem like a weird choice, choosing the most final and awful of all the curses, I do have my reasons. First, I think I would only use an Unforgivable Curse in the most dire of circumstances when I felt like my back was against a wall and/or my life (or the lives of my friends and family) was in danger. I believe taking a life is acceptable in that kind of situation. If it’s your life on the line, I believe in doing what you have to in order to protect yourself.

Second, I think the suffering from the other two curses, are often more prolonged causing greater harm over a longer period of time. Either one is torture, and while I might believe in taking someone’s life in an extreme situation, I don’t believe in torture. The Cruciatus Curse is the embodiment of physical torture. There’s no way around it, it is pain for the sake of pain, and it’s disgusting. Neville’s parents were literally tortured into insanity using this curse. I don’t think I could bring myself to use it.

And the Imperius Curse may seem like the least of all the evils, but when you think about it, you’re forcing someone to act against their own will, sometimes for extended periods of time. If they ever regain their own free will, how much guilt and pain will they spend the rest of their life carrying around? It’s mental torture. Not to mention, taking over someone’s mind against their will seems like a kind of rape and I just don’t think I’m capable of that either. At least with the Killing Curse, it’s clean and quick. Sudden death. So that’s my choice I guess. There may be no coming back from it, but I think it’s the one I could actual live with myself for committing.

Well, that’s really all I’ve got for ya! Just a small moment of sweet HP goodness! I hope you enjoyed it, and please, feel free to share your own thoughts on what Unforgivable Curse you would choose to use in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

