Harry Potter Moment of the Week #38

HPMOTW (2)

This is a meme started by Uncorked Thoughts which aims to share with fellow bloggers a weekly slice of HP awesomeness. It is an awesomeness that only increases with time and number of reads. Once a week we will share a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/films/J. K. Rowling (or anything Potter related)! Each topic will be posted on Uncorked Thoughts HERE. There will also be  free weeks where everyone can share whatever topic they want! Be sure to share your link on the main site for all other HP MOTW fans to enjoy!

This Week’s Theme: What was the best Sirius moment?

For me, the best moment with Sirius came early on in the series. After Harry first finds out that Black wasn’t the one who betrayed his family and he is able to envision a happy future with his godfather.

Harry and Sirius“You know what this means?” Sirius said abruptly to Harry as they made their slow progress along the tunnel. “Turning Pettigrew in?”

“You’re free,” said Harry.

“Yes …,” said Sirius. “But I’m also — I don’t know if anyone ever told you — I’m your godfather.”

“Yeah, I knew that,” said Harry.

“Well … your parents appointed me your guardian,” said Sirius stiffly. “If anything happened to them …”

Harry waited. Did Sirius mean what he thought he meant?

“I’ll understand, of course, if you want to stay with your aunt and uncle,” said Sirius. “But … well … think about it. Once my name’s cleared … if you wanted a … a different home …”

Some sort of explosion took place in the pit of Harry’s stomach.

“What — live with you?” he said, accidentally cracking his head on a bit of rock protruding from the ceiling. “Leave the Dursleys?”

“Of course, I thought you wouldn’t want to,” said Sirius quickly. “I understand, I just thought I’d –”

“Are you insane?” said Harry, his voice easily as croaky as Sirius’s. “Of course I want to leave the Dursleys! Have you got a house? When can I move in?” (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, pg. 378-379)

Of course things go to crap pretty quickly after this, but I always loved the hope that this moment represented not only for Harry, but also for Sirius. It’s the hope that the weight he’s been carrying for all these years will be lifted, and he is truly able to smile and envision a happy future for the two of them. It’s a moment of possibility and freedom. This moment is part of what made this book so special when I read it.

Well, that’s really all I’ve got for ya! Just a small moment of sweet HP goodness! I hope you enjoyed it, and please, feel free to share your own thoughts on what your favorite ‘Sirius Moment’ was in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

