Harry Potter Moment of the Week #37

HPMOTW (2)

This is a meme started by Uncorked Thoughts which aims to share with fellow bloggers a weekly slice of HP awesomeness. It is an awesomeness that only increases with time and number of reads. Once a week we will share a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/films/J. K. Rowling (or anything Potter related)! Each topic will be posted on Uncorked Thoughts HERE. There will also be  free weeks where everyone can share whatever topic they want! Be sure to share your link on the main site for all other HP MOTW fans to enjoy!

This Week’s Theme: Most anticipated moment?

It took me a minute to figure out what was meant by ‘most anticipated’ moment. I don’t really do much anticipating with books, I like being surprised by the things that happen, and I don’t often “count on” something occurring because that ruins the fun a bit for me. But with certain genres you can anticipate certain tropes or plot moments so and the one thing that I knew was eventually going to happen with this series was this…

 

voldemort and harry duel 1voldemort and harry duel

 

The final battle between Voldemort and Harry Potter was pretty much the only thing that was a guarantee throughout the entire series, so I’m going to choose this as my most anticipated moment. I wasn’t sure of the how, the when, the where, or what it would be, but some kind of showdown was inevitable, especially once old Voldy got his corporeal form back. He would never stop coming after Harry, and Harry would never let him try to take over the world without doing something to stop him. It was inevitable due to their natures. It’s who they are. And I must say, reading this part of the books, I was transfixed. I couldn’t stop reading, and soaking it all in. I thought the Battle of Hogwarts was one of the best battle scenes I’ve ever read (and I’ve read a LOT of battle scenes with all my fantasy books). The movie version was definitely cool, too, but it wasn’t exactly like I’d pictured it in my head. I really would have enjoyed it better if they’d had everyone watching like in the books. The visual effects during the wand duel above were pretty awesome though.

Well, that’s really all I’ve got for ya! Just a small moment of sweet HP goodness! I hope you enjoyed it, and please, feel free to share your own thoughts on what your most anticipated moment was in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

