Harry Potter Moment of the Week #36

HPMOTW (2)

This is a meme started by Uncorked Thoughts which aims to share with fellow bloggers a weekly slice of HP awesomeness. It is an awesomeness that only increases with time and number of reads. Once a week we will share a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/films/J. K. Rowling (or anything Potter related)! Each topic will be posted on Uncorked Thoughts HERE. There will also be  free weeks where everyone can share whatever topic they want! Be sure to share your link on the main site for all other HP MOTW fans to enjoy!

This Week’s Theme: What Character would you erase if you could?

So, as the previous week might have suggested, I don’t think I’d really want to erase any of the characters from this series, as I love them all, even when they are flawed. Even when I don’t like them, I think they served a really great purpose in the story. So the idea of getting rid of any of them seems a bit absurd. That being said, there is one character that I really soured towards over the course of several re-reads… Cho Chang.

cho chang

Now, here’s my reasoning. I would get rid of Cho Chang because honestly, she serves little to no purpose in the overall scheme of the series. She’s Harry’s first crush, and when we first meet Cho, I can see why. She’s smart, pretty, she’s an athelete on the Quidditch field and that’s someone Harry can admire. I liked that. But as things happen, and you get to see more of her, there’s nothing in her personality to appreciate. After Cedric’s death she becomes one of those obnoxious females who’s rather weak-willed, easily jealous, and hung up on the past. I mean, I get it. She lost someone she loved and she’s young. But I disliked the character choices for her, she stops being able to play, does poorly in school, and caves under pressure. Maybe some see her as being “loyal” to her friend, but I just don’t care. She doesn’t grow through her struggles, she crumbles. I can’t get into her as a character. I don’t find anything redeeming about her in the long run, she just kind of fades. I feel like, of everyone in the series, Harry’s world would not miss this incarnation of her.

That being said, I don’t necessarily think I’d want to get rid of her or erase her entirely. Just this version of her. I’d like her better if she hadn’t been such a blubbery mess that was hung up on comparing Harry to her dead boyfriend. It would have been cool if she’d been just a little bit stronger, and then perhaps the new version of her character could have joined Harry and the DA at the Ministry. He could have experienced his first girlfriend and maybe not been so emo throughout book 5, and then maybe when they went home for the summer they could have broken things off because long distance relationships suck, and maybe Cho would have found someone new in the summer. Or she could have understood that dating someone while you’re still grieving over a lost love is a bad idea, and just turned him down entirely. Then later on in the series, maybe she could have been a little more involved in the final Battle of Hogwarts, because as she is written, I really don’t care about what happened to her.

Well, that’s really all I’ve got for ya! Just a small moment of sweet HP goodness! I hope you enjoyed it, and please, feel free to share your own thoughts on what character you would get rid of in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

