“Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Glass Arrow

Waiting on Wednesdays

Waiting on Wednesdays is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming book releases that we are excited for.


The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons

Hardcover, 336 pages
Publication Date: Feb. 10th, 2015
Publisher: Tor Teen
ISBN: 9780765336613
Add it: To your TBR Pile or your “Want to Read” list on Goodreads.

The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group of women on the run from the men who hunt them, men who want to auction off breeding rights to the highest bidder.

In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when Aya’s luck runs out and she’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning.

I have to say, ever since I discovered this book on someone else’s (I can’t remember who’s) blog, I have been fascinated by the concept for the story. Feminist ideals and issues of equality and safety have become such a huge talking point in the media during the past year, that I find this kind of story to be very well timed. Women fighting to control their lives, and their bodies; it all sounds deplorable, and I’m fascinated and itching to see how the author carries the whole thing out. I love strong female characters (perhaps they are not necessarily physically strong, but of strong mind or in a particular type of work) so I’m really excited to learn more about Aya!

 ***

What are you waiting for this week?

***

2 comments on ““Waiting On” Wednesdays: The Glass Arrow

  1. Huh, not sure how I missed this post here when I was doing my WoW hopping last week, but better late than never right?! Anyways, YES^^ I am totally waiting on this one right along with you Kerry! I featured it as my WoW pick a while back too. It sounds amazing, especially the the feminist themes like you say, I adore strong female heroines too ♥ Hopefully we can both get our hands on this one soon 😀 Awesome pick! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! There are just so many great-sounding books with these intriguing plots and characters! I’m almost a little glad it’s not out yet so I have a chance to catch up on some other books on my list! But I also still want it RIGHT NOW! lol! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

