Harry Potter Moment of the Week #19

HPMOTW (2)

This is a meme started by Uncorked Thoughts which aims to share with fellow bloggers a weekly slice of HP awesomeness. It is an awesomeness that only increases with time and number of reads. Once a week we will share a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/films/J. K. Rowling (or anything Potter related)! Each topic will be posted on Uncorked Thoughts HERE. There will also be  free weeks where everyone can share whatever topic they want! Be sure to share your link on the main site for all other HP MOTW fans to enjoy!

This Week’s Theme: Favourite Death-Eater (Or one you most love to hate!)

Well Happy New Year to all! Kicking things off with a bang (all though if you see a flash of green light coming your way from one of these baddies, may I suggest that you duck. And quickly.)

Now, on to the question at hand! Which is my favorite (to use the term loosely) Death-Eater???

lucius malfoybellatrix lestrangeThe one I always loved to hate the most is a toss up between Lucius Malfoy and Bellatrix Lestrange. They, more than any other Death-Eaters in the series, pissed me off the most through various actions and dialogue. If you watch the actors, they both spend a fair amount of time actually looking down their noses at the other characters. Literally. It’s pretty funny.  The scene where Molly finally finishes Bellatrix off is one of my all-time favorites in the series. I love any moment where the snotty smirk gets wiped off one of their faces.

 

But there was one Death-Eater that I actually admire in a bit of a twisted way. Not because I liked his plotting or intentions, but because of how weirdly committed to his cause he was and how far he was willing to go to help his enemies in order to bring his plans to fruition. And no, it’s not because he was ALSO a Doctor…

Barty Crouch Jr quiz result

Why Barty? I kind of like just how far he’s willing to go for his master. He’s ambitious and sly and goes so far as to really, genuinely help his enemy (aka Harry Potter and all his friends) with becoming better wizards. I mean, think about it. Harry’s fourth year at Hogwarts is one of his best D.A.D.A. class years. And that wasn’t the real Mad-Eye Moody teaching them. That was Barty. It’s such a shame he chose the Dark Arts for his passion because he probably would have been a badass teacher had he taken a different route. (*sighs at the lost opportunity*) I mean, yes, he does it all for the grander purpose (again, another loosely used term) of bringing old Voldy back from the dead, but I’m going to overlook that for the most part. And for a Death-Eater, he’s really not that hard on the eyes…

Barty Crouch tongue

LOL, just kidding!

Well, that’s really all I’ve got for ya! Just a small moment of sweet HP goodness! I hope you enjoyed it, and please, feel free to share your own thoughts on who your favourite Death-Eater is in the comments below!

2 comments on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week #19

  1. I missed this topic (and the previous one) since I took a holiday break but I WILL be revisiting them when we get free weeks. When I saw you did this one (even though I’m late) I *had* to see what you pick was…and boy am I ever happy I did. Seeing Dt’s face ALWAYS makes my day, and I love everything you said about Barty Crouch Jr…and DT’s portrayal of him *swoon* It really is a shame he didn’t have a better family life, he might have chosen a different path and yeah he would have made an awesome ‘good’ teacher. As it is all the things he taught in DADA that year were brilliant! Oh and I *may* have stolen that gif^^ ♥ hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

