50 Day Movie Challenge: Day 17

My 50 Day Movie Challenge!

For those just tuning in, while browsing the internet, I’ve come across posts from other bloggers doing 20, or 30 day challenges all about movies, so I decided to mash up a bunch of those questions and came up with 50 that I’m going to attempt to answer consecutively over the next month and a half (or so). If you’d like to try and do it too, feel free! I’ll post all the questions as I go along, and I hope you enjoy my answers!

Day 17: What’s your favorite classic movie?

To Kill a MockingbirdA classic film, a classic leading man, and a classic story: To Kill a Mockingbird (starring Gregory Peck). I’m not very big into classic movies (I haven’t made time to see many of them, which is kind of horrible, I know). There are so many that people rave about and I just find I don’t want to see them by myself. So this may change some time in the future, but for now, I don’t think it gets much better than this.

I first read To Kill a Mockingbird in my freshman year of high school, and it completely captivated me. We were also doing the story as our fall play, so I had a unique opportunity to see it acted live (and to act in it live) with my friends. I was the understudy for Scout, and it really gave me so much insight into the story. So when we also got a chance to watch it, I kind of fell in love a little with Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch. It Gregory Peckmight be one of the most perfect casting choices, ever. I think it’s because of his voice. He speaks with so much power and conviction and is so utterly that character. If I were ever to get all swoony over an old Hollywood leading man, I think it would be him.

The rest of the cast, and the film as a whole are really excellent too. It’s one of the most well-done translations from book to screen that I’ve ever encountered. The kids, the racial tensions, the courtroom scenes… it’s all perfect. It’s clear how much esteem and commitment was given to Harper Lee’s story and getting it right. But *sighs* what puts it over the top is definitely Mr. Gregory Peck.

Day 17, Done and done!

 

Leave a Reply

