50 Day Movie Challenge: Day 16

My 50 Day Movie Challenge!

For those just tuning in, while browsing the internet, I’ve come across posts from other bloggers doing 20, or 30 day challenges all about movies, so I decided to mash up a bunch of those questions and came up with 50 that I’m going to attempt to answer consecutively over the next month and a half (or so). If you’d like to try and do it too, feel free! I’ll post all the questions as I go along, and I hope you enjoy my answers!

Day 16: What movie have you most recently seen in theaters?

Mockingjay Part 1 PosterMockingjay, Part 1

Which I thoroughly loved, I must say. There’s a lot I could talk about with this movie, and I’m sure there are people out there who didn’t enjoy the translation from book to film, but I’m just going to talk about why it was good, in my personal opinion. Also, if you haven’t seen it, now would be the time to stop reading because there are spoilers ahead!

One of the main reasons why I liked this movie was because of the way the director/producers, etc. were able to visualize all the things that weren’t shown in the book. By this, I mean, all the things that were happening that Katniss probably wasn’t aware of, or able to see. You get multiple points of view here, as opposed to only knowing what Katniss does. The manipulations become very clear in this case. I really liked the conversations between President Coin and Plutarch, for example, and how they showed what was happening in the command center when everyone else was in the bunkers during the District 13 attack.

SS_D105-310019.dngI also really enjoyed how they were able to show how Katniss affected the people in the districts. You kind of see it a little bit in Catching Fire, with the graffiti and when they’re making their speeches during the victory tour. But the cutaway to District 7, where you see the people climb the trees to take out the Peacekeepers, it becomes so immediate. Then there’s the song. When Katniss sings (I was surprised by how great it came out, first of all) you can see the affect she has on the people who immediately surround her. But what was really wonderful was how they showed the people take up her song, and with it her fight. They basically walk to their deaths in order to take out the dam… and, Wow. It’s powerful stuff. mockingjay dam

I also liked the scenes where they rescued Peeta, and his transformation. They did such a great job creating an overall feeling for the film. I also think they picked the right stopping point. It seems like they all really stepped it up for this film, and I’m so excited to see the next, and final, installment!

Day 16, termine!

 

Leave a Reply

