50 Day Movie Challenge: Day 11

My 50 Day Movie Challenge!

For those just tuning in, while browsing the internet, I’ve come across posts from other bloggers doing 20, or 30 day challenges all about movies, so I decided to mash up a bunch of those questions and came up with 50 that I’m going to attempt to answer consecutively over the next month and a half (or so). If you’d like to try and do it too, feel free! I’ll post all the questions as I go along, and I hope you enjoy my answers!

Day 11: What was your favorite movie from childhood?

a-little-princess-posterA Little Princess (1995)

I’m such a fan of this story, and this version in particular. Based on the book by Frances Hodgson Burnett, this is the story of Sara Crewe. When her father is made to serve in WWI, Sara is sent from her home in India to Miss Minchin’s Seminary for Girls in New York. Minchin is a vile woman who seems to hate children, but gives Sara all she wants or needs because of her father’s wealth. When her father goes missing in action, Sara must become a servant in the school where she was once the “princess.” Her life becomes harsh, but is not without it’s friendships. And almost any hardships become more bearable with an imagination like Sara’s. minchins girls

I loved movies as a kid.

Each story was wonderful and transported me to so many different places. It’s hard to pick one that stands out above the rest as the favorite, because there were so many that I treasured, but A Little Princess is one of the top-tier stories for me. It came out right around the time/age where I would have read the book. I think I was about 10 or 11 when this movie was released, and for me, it completely captured the emotion (and my vision) of the story.

sara and her dadThe actress who played Sara Crewe, Liesel Matthews, was fantastic in this piece. She was the essence of the character, and when I watch this as an adult, she still works for me. The sweetness and innocence, coupled with the heartbreak of losing everything… *sighs* I know there have been other renderings of this story, but as far as I’m concerned, none were as good as this one. I thought the costumes and sets for this time period were great, and the girls who played her friends (and enemies) were wonderful. In particular I really enjoyed the little girl who played Lottie (what a screamer!) And Rusty Schwimmer who played Amelia Minchin, the harried sister to the school’s owner Miss Minchin, was wonderful in this film! I love how jumpy she was, and how clearly unhappy her sister made her until Sara helped her find her own courage. Plus, the movie’s message really resonated with me when I was young.

I don’t think I could ever get enough of this movie. It’s definitely one that I’ll watch with my own kids (if and when I have any).

all girls are princesses

Day 11, Check!

 

Leave a Reply

