50 Day Movie Challenge: Day 7

My 50 Day Movie Challenge is off and running!

Day 7! For those just tuning in, on other sites I’ve seen bloggers do 20, or 30 day challenges all about movies, so I decided to mash up a bunch of those questions and came up with 50 that I’m going to attempt to answer consecutively over the next month and a half (or so). If you’d like to try and do it too, feel free! I’ll post all the questions as I go along, and I hope you enjoy my answers!

Day 7: Name a movie that makes you happy…

Ever after posterThere are so many movies that genuinely make me happy when I watch them, but this was one of the first ones that popped into my head. Ever After: A Cinderella Story is, in my opinion, one of the best adaptations of the fairy tale that has ever hit the screen. Every time I watch it I just fall into romance mode and sigh my happy little inner-romantic sighs.

The acting is delightful, both Barrymore and Huston shine in their respective roles as Cinderella and her Wicked Stepmother. I also enjoyed the historical take on the text, placing it in France in the late 15th Century.

ever afterThe fact that the role of her “fairy godmother” was taken on by a man — none other than Leonardo da Vinci — was pretty great too. And the whole thing just felt so much more complete; the stepsisters had much more depth and character, and well, I could probably go on forever about it.

I can’t help but feel good after watching it. This movie does exactly what it’s supposed to. It makes you yearn for that simple and lovely, happily ever after.

One week down! Several more to go…

 

Leave a Reply

