50 Day Movie Challenge: Day 4

My 50 Day Movie Challenge is off and running!

Day 4! Hey now, I might actually have the fortitude to keep going with these posts. For anyone else attempting a challenge like this, I recommend keeping your posts as short and sweet as you can manage. For those just tuning in, on other sites I’ve seen bloggers do 20, or 30 day challenges all about movies, so I decided to mash up a bunch of those questions and came up with 50 that I’m going to attempt to answer consecutively over the next month and a half (or so). If you’d like to try and do it too, feel free! I’ll post all the questions as I go along, and I hope you enjoy my answers!

Day 4: What is a Movie that no one would expect you to love?

Since I tend to prefer the lighter subject matter in most of my movie viewing, people probably wouldn’t expect me to love a movie like Good Morning Vietnam. Yet, it is one I really love and find utterly compelling. The elements of humor mixed with the seriousness of the war, and that situation in particular, it was just flawlessly done. Robin Williams was one of my favorite actors, and had this way of using comedy to really emphasize or underscore a serious point or opinion. Dramas aren’t generally my thing, unless they relate to a subject that I enjoy, but in this case, he made me care about the character and appreciate the story in a way that I don’t think another actor could have.

For anyone unfamiliar with this film, here’s the synopsis: A new Disc Jockey is shipped from Crete to Vietnam to bring humor to Armed Forces Radio. He turns the studio on its ear and becomes wildly popular with the troops but runs afoul of the middle management who think he isn’t G.I. enough. While he is off the air, he tries to meet Vietnamese especially girls, and begins to have brushes with the real war that never appears on the radio. From what I’ve gathered, the film is loosely based on the experiences of AFRS radio DJ Adrian Cronauer.

Well, that’s it. Day 4: mission complete!

Wish me luck in keeping up!!

Leave a Reply

