Harry Potter Moment of the Week #12

HPMOTW (2)

This is a meme started by Uncorked Thoughts which aims to share with fellow bloggers a weekly slice of HP awesomeness. It is an awesomeness that only increases with time and number of reads. Once a week we will share a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/films/J. K. Rowling (or anything Potter related)! Each topic will be posted on Uncorked Thoughts HERE. There will also be  free weeks where everyone can share whatever topic they want! Be sure to share your link on the main site for all other HP MOTW fans to enjoy!

This Week’s Theme: Could you ever double as a spy like Snape?

This is a really interesting question for the week. I’m not sure I could ever be quite that good of a spy. I don’t know how I could handle being around Voldemort and the Death Eaters without feeling or giving in to nerves at one point or another. That is part of what made Snape such an incredible spy/character. He never lost his cool (except for one or two times around Harry, towards the end of it all). He remained calm under a level of pressure that must have been astronomical, and he did it without any support. I’ve never really spent much time thinking about Snape as a character/person (I’m definitely prejudiced from my early Harry Potter years) but thinking about it now, I can’t believe what an incredibly strong person he must have been.

Now, in spite of my thinking I could not really have pulled off his double-life, I do think I possess some of the qualities that made Snape such an excellent spy. Mostly this comes from an ability to keep my most personal thoughts and feelings to myself. I’m not that big on sharing my opinions about the important stuff in life unless directly asked, and even then, I’ve been known to be evasive. His love for Lily Evans/Potter was an incredibly closely guarded secret, as was his real relationship with Dumbledore. To be able to bear those things alone is a heavy thing. But keeping your feelings to yourself. That is one of the few ways that I can empathize with him .

 

Well, that’s really all I’ve got for ya! Just a small moment of sweet HP goodness! I hope you enjoyed it, and please, feel free to share your own thoughts on whether you could make as good a spy as Snape in the comments below!

6 comments on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week #12

  1. Once you learn the whole story of Snape it’s kind of impossible not to admire his sacrifices and how he devoted his life to protecting a boy he never grew to care about. I mean sure he was a Death Eater, but he spent the rest of his life making up for it. I never would have been able to witness all the terrible things Voldemort and the Death Eaters did, not to mention actively blocking out Voldemort on a daily basis O.O Like you, I feel like I’m pretty good at keeping my emotions guarded…BUT I feel sure I would have slipped up soon enough under that kind of pressure LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am horribly bad at holding back when I don’t like someone. If I were with Voldy and the Death Eaters, my revulsion would be written all over my face, and there’d be nothing I could do about it. I may can hold my thoughts to myself, but unfortunately my facial expressions betray them all anyway. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

