Harry Potter Moment of the Week #5

HPMOTW (2)

This is a meme started by Uncorked Thoughts which aims to share with fellow bloggers a weekly slice of HP awesomeness. It is an awesomeness that only increases with time and number of reads. Once a week we will share a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/films/J. K. Rowling (or anything Potter related)! Each topic will be posted on Uncorked Thoughts HERE. There will also be  free weeks where everyone can share whatever topic they want! Be sure to share your link on the main site for all other HP MOTW fans to enjoy!

This Week’s Theme: Favorite Editions of the Books

So this week is all about looks. Which version of books is your favorite? Well, I’m torn between 2 editions. The first editions are of course, the original US Scholastic editions:

Original Scholastic edition

How can you not love these? They are the first versions, and for me have a special place in my heart because these are the editions that I read over and over again. Also, the wrap-around artwork on each book is really fantastic. I remember with each of the final 3 covers, looking at them and trying to discover clues as to what was going to happen before getting my hands on them. Especially Deathly Hallows.

My other favorite editions are the new 15th Anniversary Editions of the books (also from Scholastic):

Harry Potter Series Anniversary Covers

The reason why I would like the re-makes of my favorite covers?? Um, look at the artwork and tell me it’s not stunning, I dare you! lol  But seriously folks, I cannot even begin to talk about how much I love the art now that the publishers aren’t worried about spoiling major parts of the stories. The first cover with Diagon Alley is beautiful and so awesome, and then there are books 4 and 5. Wow. Just gorgeous with the detail and the choice of each particular moment. Plus the new edition of the box set comes with bonus art:

boxset

Who could ask for anything more?

Well, that’s really all I’ve got for ya! Just a small moment of sweet HP goodness! I hope you enjoyed it, and please, feel free to share your own favorite editions in the comments below!

4 comments on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week #5

  1. Ooh I had never seen the 15th anniversary editions before and they really are gorgeous! Although I never had the US Scholastic editions I have seen them around so much that I love them as well. And that box set is hitting all the right buttons because I love it when series match on my bookshelf. Thanks for stopping by 🙂 I hope you have a great rest of the week and then weekend!
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

Leave a Reply

