Image

End Child Marriage

unicef:

“I never imagined my wedding day; I was completely devoted to study. I wanted to become a doctor. I was very good in school. When we left Syria, I tried to bring my textbooks. I thought I might go back again, and I could use the time in Iraq to study.”

Like many girls facing poverty or conflict, Dilda was married to an older man to help make ends meet. “She had a nice dress, but no songs, no party,” says her father Abdul. “It would be very improper to have a party while our brothers and sisters are suffering and being killed in Syria.”

Together we can end child marriage within a generation. Be part of it: http://uni.cf/GS14

This is like modern-day slavery. Young girls are basically being sold by their families.

This needs to end now.

One comment on “End Child Marriage

  1. Pingback: End Child Marriage | zmoroney

Leave a Reply

